Categories Navigation Categories Navigation

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Faculty

Donald Abenheim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: European Security, Central Europe
Glasgow Hall, Room 315
dabenheim@nps.edu
(831) 656-2208

David Anderson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: U.S. Foreign Relations and National Security Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 330
dlanders@nps.edu
(831) 656-6452

Naazneen Barma, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: State-building, Peace-building, Political Economy of Development, Natural Resource Governance
Glasgow Hall, Room 355
nhbarma@nps.edu
(831) 656-6250

Anne Marie Baylouny, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Middle East, Refugees, Islam, Social Welfare
Glasgow Hall, Room 393
ambaylou@nps.edu
(831) 656-2739

CAPT C. Clark Bone

Senior Intelligence Officer, U.S. Navy Senior Information Warfare Community Officer
National Security Affairs
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 321
ccbone1@nps.edu
(831) 656-2288

Shannon Brown, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: National Security
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 352
sabrown1@nps.edu
(831) 656-3167

Thomas Bruneau, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: Civil-Military Relations, Latin American Politics and Security, Contracting out Security, Intelligence Reform in New Democracies
Hermann Hall-West, Room 415
tbruneau@nps.edu
(831) 238-1454

Anshu Chatterjee, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: South Asia, Civil Society, Political Parties, the Media
Glasgow hall, Room 351
anchatte@nps.edu
(831) 656-6253

Anne Clunan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: International Security, Brazilian and Russian National Identity
Glasgow Hall, Room 391
alclunan@nps.edu
(831) 656-2904

Erik Dahl, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Instruction, Academic Associate for PhD Security Studies
Expertise: Intelligence, Terrorism, Homeland Security, IR Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 356
ejdahl@nps.edu
(831) 656-3168

Christopher Darnton, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 248, 249, 683, and 684
Expertise: Latin America, International Relations
Glasgow Hall, Room 361
cndarnto@nps.edu
(831) 656-7729

Ryan Gingeras, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Turkey, Middle East, Balkans, Organized Crime
Glasgow Hall, Room 310
rgingera@nps.edu
(831) 656-1118

Mariana Giusti Rodríguez, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Expertise: Comparative Politics, Latin America
GL-364
m.giustirodriguez@nps.edu
(831) 656-3357

Michael Glosny, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Curricula 247 and 682
Expertise: Chinese Foreign Policy, East Asian Security, Rise of Great Powers, International Relations Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 362
maglosny@nps.edu
(831) 656-3654

Mohammed M. Hafez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, On Sabbatical
Expertise: Islamist Political Violence, Radicalization Processes, and Middle Eastern Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 337
mmhafez@nps.edu
(831) 233-0272

Carolyn Halladay, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Curricula 685, 686, 691, 692, and 693
Expertise: German and Central European History and Politics, Cultural History, Law and National Security, International Law, Nationalism, Political Extremism
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
cchallad@nps.edu
(831) 656-6256

COL Uwe Hartmann, Ph.D.

Visting Lecturer, Military Professor
Expertise: NATO, European Union, Strategic Thinking, Leadership
Glasgow Hall, Room 307
uhartman1@nps.edu
(831) 656-1036

Wade Huntley, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, RSEP Academic Director
Expertise: Cyber Security, Nuclear Weapons Proliferation, East Asian Regional Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 353
wlhuntle@nps.edu
(831) 656-7903

Scott Jasper, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Expertise: Defense Strategy, Hybrid Warfare, Cyber Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 301
sejasper@nps.edu
(831) 656-2913

Thomas Johnson

Research Associate Professor
Expertise: Afghanistan, Central Asia, Insurgency, Counterinsurgency
Glasgow Hall, Room 359
thjohnso@nps.edu
(831) 656-3190

S. Paul Kapur, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: International Relations, Nuclear Proliferation, South Asian Politics and Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 363
spkapur@nps.edu
(831) 656-3858

Feroz Khan, BG (Retired)

Research Professor
Expertise: South Asia, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Nuclear Strategy and Proliferation
Glasgow Hall, Room 360
fhkhan@nps.edu
(831) 656-3043

Jeffrey Larsen, Ph.D.

Research Professor
Expertise: US National Security, NATO, Nuclear Policy, Arms Control, Europe
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 382
jeffrey.larsen@nps.edu
(831) 656-7690

Letitia Lawson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Political Economy of Development in African Neopatrimonial States
Glasgow Hall, Room 364
lllawson@nps.edu
(831) 656-3357

LTC Michael Lee

Foreign Area Officer Advisor
Expertise: U.S. Army FAO, Africa
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 372
michael.lee@nps.edu
(831) 656-3294

Robert Looney, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor
Expertise: Economies of the Middle East, Africa and Latin America. Energy Security, and Economic Intelligence
Glasgow Hall, Room 305
relooney@nps.edu
(831) 656-3484

Tristan Mabry, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Nationalism, Ethnic Conflict, Identity Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 343
tjmabry@nps.edu
(831) 656-7528

Michael Malley, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Executive Director of PASCC/CCC
Expertise: Southeast Asia, Indonesia, International Relations, Comparative Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
msmalley@nps.edu
(831) 656-2409

Cristiana Matei, Ph.D.

Lecturer, CCMR Program Manager
Expertise: Latin America, Intelligence and Democracy
Building 259, Room 215
cmatei@nps.edu
(831) 656-2366

Emily Meierding, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 246, 681, and 688
Expertise: Energy, Environmental Security, International Conflict, Cooperation
Glasgow Hall, Room 348
elmeierd@nps.edu
831-656-2798

Covell Meyskens, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Expertise: China, East Asia, Modern World History
Glasgow Hall, Room 354
cfmeyske@nps.edu
(831) 656-3293

Clay Moltz, Ph.D.

Department Chair
Expertise: Space, Nuclear Strategy, East Asia, Russia
Glasgow Hall, Room 394
jcmoltz@nps.edu
(831) 656-1039

Daniel Moran, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Modern International and Military History, Strategic Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 316
djmoran@nps.edu
(831) 656-2059

Rodrigo Nieto-Gomez, Ph.D.

Research Professor
Expertise: Geopolitics, Strategy, Mexico, Innovation, North America
Glasgow Hall, Room 344
rnietogo@nps.edu
(831) 656-6254

Afshon Ostovar, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Associate Chair for Research
Expertise: Iran, Middle East, Armed Groups, Conflict, Islam, Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 357
apostova@nps.edu
831-656-1862

Jessica Piombo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Sub-Saharan Africa, South Africa, African Security, US Engagement in Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 374
jrpiombo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2831

Douglas Porch, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: Counterinsurgency, North Africa Military History
Glasgow Hall, Room 312
dporch@nps.edu
(831) 656-1038

Maria Rasmussen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Terrorism, Counter-terrorism, Civil Protection
Glasgow hall, Room 304
mrasmussen@nps.edu
(831) 656-3673

James Russell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Politics and Security in the Gulf States, U.S. Security Strategy in the Persian Gulf and the Middle East, Nuclear Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 395
jarussel@nps.edu
(831) 656-2109

Zachary Shore, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: 20th-Century International History, Foreign Policy Decision Making
Glasgow Hall, Room 333
zshore@nps.edu
(831) 656-3358

Rachel Sigman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Expertise: Comparative Politics, Political Economy of Development, Sub-Saharan Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 397
rlsigman@nps.edu
(831) 656-3985

Mikhail Tsypkin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Russia, Military Power, Eurasia
Glasgow Hall, Room 313
mtsypkin@nps.edu
(831) 656-2218

Christopher Twomey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: International Relations, Asian Security, Chinese Foreign Policy, Strategic Deterrence
Glasgow Hall, Room 376
ctwomey@nps.edu
(831) 656-3543

Robert Weiner, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Asia, Japan, the Koreas, Comparative Politics, Democratic Institutions and Governance, Research Methods
Glasgow Hall, Room 375
rjweiner@nps.edu
(831) 656-3952

James Wirtz, Ph.D.

Dean of SIGS, Professor
Expertise: International Relations Theory, Intelligence, Deterrence, Strategy, Security Studies
Hermann Hall-West, Room 414
jwirtz@nps.edu
(831) 656-3483

Chloe Woida, Contractor

Lecturer
Expertise: Writing, Research, National Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 346
cdwoida@nps.edu
(831) 656-1080

Glen Woodbury

Director of Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Expertise: Homeland Security, Emergency Management, State and Local Governance
Watkins Hall, Room 372
glwoodbu@nps.edu
(831) 656-3038

David Yost, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor
Expertise: NATO, Europe, France, Nuclear Deterrence, U.S. Foreign and Security Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 317
dyost@nps.edu
(831) 656-3292

Thomas-Durell Young, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Certificate Program Curriculum 245
Expertise: Defense Planning, Defense Management, Defense Institutions, International Economics
Building 259, Room 220
tdyoung@nps.edu
(831) 656-2011