Skip to Content
Physics

Breadcrumb Breadcrumb

Web Content Display Web Content Display

About Us

The mission of the Department of Physics is to provide relevant and advanced education and research programs in applied physics, tailored to the defense and intelligence needs of the present and future. Physics is the fundamental science that explores matter, energy, and their interactions, and is the key to the development of new technologies.

The technological edge provided by systems such as GPS, IR guided missiles, laser guided bombs, wake-homing torpedoes, mobile satellite communications, underwater acoustic communications, and unmanned aerial vehicle imagery have enabled today’s war-fighter to strike with unprecedented speed, accuracy, and effect. The development of systems such as these requires a deep and creative understanding of the basic disciplines of physics, such as mechanics, electrodynamics, fluid dynamics, sound and vibrations, thermodynamics, quantum physics, solid-state physics, and others.

Our program produces officers who can apply broad technical, scientific and engineering principles to combat systems operation, evaluation, design, and development. Throughout the course of their career and beyond, their education in the fundamental principles of physics prepares them for opportunities to decrease cost, increase quality, and speed development of important projects for the Navy and the DOD. Our graduates fill a spectrum of assignments in the development of future combat systems, working creatively and practically in conceiving, developing, and acquiring advanced combat systems.

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Nested Portlets Nested Portlets

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Joe Blau
Research Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 2002
blau@nps.edu
(831) 656-2332

Keith Cohn
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D, Physics, Stanford
krcohn@nps.edu
(831) 656-2322

Bruce C. Denardo
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, UCLA, 1990
denardo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2952

Raymond Gamache
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1999
rmgamach@nps.edu
(831) 656-7916

Oleg A. Godin
Professor
Ph.D., Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, 1984
oagodin@nps.edu
(831) 656-2982

Dragoslav Grbovic
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
dgrbovic@nps.edu
(831) 656-2276

 



Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Joseph P. Hooper
Associate Chair of Research
Ph.D. Physics, Tulane University, 2006
jphooper@nps.edu
(831) 656-2601

Daphne Kapolka
Senior Lecturer of Physics, Academic Associate for Undersea Warfare
Ph.D. Applied Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 1997
dkapolka@nps.edu
(831) 656-1825

Emil P. Kartalov
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Applied Physics, California Institute of Technology, 2004
epkartal@nps.edu
(831) 656-2125

Gamani Karunasiri
Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., Physics, University of Pittsburgh, 1984
karunasiri@nps.edu
(831) 656-2886

Andres Larraza
Associate Professor of Physics
Chair of Undersea Warfare Academic Group
Ph.D. Physics, UCLA, 1987
larraza@nps.edu
(831) 656-3007

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

James Luscombe
Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, University of Chicago, 1983
luscombe@nps.edu
(831) 656-2431

Richard C. Olsen
Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, UC San Diego, 1980
olsen@nps.edu
(831)656-2019

Kevin B. Smith
Chairman and Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Applied Marine Physics, U. of Miami, 1991
kbsmith@nps.edu
(831) 656-2896

Christopher G. Smithtro
Associate Dean of GSEAS
Ph.D., Utah State University, 2004
cgsmitht@nps.edu
(831) 656-3939

David Trask
Professor of the Practices of MASINT
M.S. Aeronautical Management, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, 2001
dmtrask@nps.edu
(831) 656-2219

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Nested Portlets Nested Portlets

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Bob Armstead
Emeritus Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, UC Berkeley, 1964

Steven R. Baker
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D, UCLA, 1985
srbaker@nps.edu
(831) 656-2824

Brett Borden
Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, University of Texas at Austin, 1986
bhborden@nps.edu
(831) 656-2855

Bill Colson
Emeritus, Distinguished Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, Stanford University, 1977

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Alfred Cooper
Emeritus Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, The Queens University of Belfast, 1961

Peter Crooker
Senior Lecturer of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 1967
ppcrooke@nps.edu
(831) 656-2232

Richard M. Harkins
Associate Chair of Academics and Administration
M.S. Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 1988
rharkins@nps.edu
(831) 656-2828

Don Walters
Emeritus Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, Kansas State University, 1971

Karlheinz Woehler
Emeritus Professor of Physics
Ph.D. Physics, University of Munich, 1962

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Nested Portlets Nested Portlets

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Jay Adeff
Supervisory Physicist
M.S. Physics, M.S. Engineering Science, Naval Postgraduate School, 1991, 1999

Mandy Drury
Administrative Support Assistant


Steven Jacobs
Model Maker/Protype Machinist


Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Gene Morris
Electronics Technician
B.A. Information Networking Technology, FHSU, 2006

Raquel Herold
Research Assistant


Web Content Display Web Content Display

Contact Us

  • Department of Physics
  • Spanagel Hall, Room 203
  • 833 Dyer Road
  • Monterey, CA 93943-5216
  • P: (831) 656-2397
  • DSN: 756-2397

NPS Physics Social Media