Web Content Display Web Content Display

Operations Research Department Faculty

The OR Department has a distinguished faculty that includes three members of the National Academy of Engineering and many fellows of professional societies. We are the only program to have had more than one faculty member selected for the “Prize for the Teaching of OR/MS Practice” by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS)—Rick Rosenthal won this award in 2000, Jeff Kline won the 2011 award, and Tom Lucas won it in 2015.

The NPS OR Department is one of the largest OR departments in the United States. Tenured or tenure-track faculty members hold Ph.D. degrees in operations research or a related discipline (e.g., mathematics, statistics, computer science). Most of those without Ph.D. degrees are current or former military officers who have deep military operations and applied operations research experience.

OR Faculty and students
INFORMS President Anne Robinson (front left) presents the 2013 UPS George D. Smith Prize "for effective and innovative preparation of students to be good practitioners of operations research, management science, or analytics” to the OR Department.


The OR Department is hiring!

The Operations Research Department at the Naval Postgraduate School invites applications for full-time faculty positions in the following areas:

Assistant/Associate Professor in Military Operations Research

Assistant/Associate Professor in Statistics

Lecturer in Human Systems Integration

Lecturer or Senior Lecturer in Statistics, Cost Estimation, and Test and Evaluation


Distinguished Professor Gerald G. Brown, 2016 INFORMS President's Award Winner.

The purpose of the INFORMS President’s award is to recognize, and thereby encourage, important contributions to the welfare of society by members of our profession at the local, national, or global level. The award is given at the National meeting.

Professor Brown also won the INFORMS Steinhardt Prize. This prize is awarded for outstanding contributions to Military Operations Research and is awarded for life work rather than for any particular contribution.

Prof. Gerald Brown wins Steinhardt Prize